A sneak peek at a 9-figure ad account
Brian Roisentul
??? Host of The DTC Insider podcast | Dad of twins (I'm alive!) | Follow me for growth marketing content in the DTC space | Founder & CEO at BSR Digital
Welcome to this issue of The DTC Insider newsletter. ??
We'll send you weekly emails, every Wednesday, trying our best to deliver great value to your inbox.
In this newsletter, you'll find:
?? 9-Figure Ad Account Setup (part 1)
?? Unlock The Power Of AI-Driven Product Development
?? 9-Figure Ad Account Setup (part 2)
?? How Authentically American Became the Brand of Choice for Fortune 500 Companies
9-Figure Ad Account Setup (part 1)
Ever wanted a sneak peek at a 9-figure ad account?
A few weeks ago, Obvi - a brand I truly admire and interviewed on The DTC Insider podcast in 2022 - disclosed how they structure their Meta ad account.
Let's take a look at what they're doing.
The column setup
This is crucial to understand the performance of the ad campaigns.
They have 3 column sets:
Soft metrics:
Conversion & intra-funnel metrics:
Creative analysis metrics:
Pay attention to how they set it up.
They have 1 column set for what happens before users land on the website.
Another one is for what happens after they land on the website.
And finally, a third one is to understand how video ads are working.
Now...let's see how they structure their ad account.
Ad account structure
Here's a quick overview of what they're doing:
Each product has its own unique testing and scaling campaign(s)
Within the testing campaign, they run tests in individual ad sets on ABO (Ad set Budget Optimization)
Considerations:
Budget
Here, they propose to do the classic formula to let each ad set exit the learning phase.
That means, 50 conversions in a 7 or 1 day period, depending on the attribution settings.
Using 7 days for the following example:
Daily ad set budget: 50 conversions * Target CAC /?7 days
Let's say your AOV is $100 and you need a 4x ROAS, that's a $25 CAC.
So, using the above formula:
Daily ad set budget: 50 * $25 / 7 = $178.60
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9-Figure Ad Account Setup (part 2)
Testing period
The key concept they propose here is to avoid creating much volatility in the ad account.
Nowadays, even the smallest changes here or there will throw it into the learning phase again.
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To prevent this, here's what they recommend:
Attribution settings
This is what they do:
No view-based attribution
For testing purposes they run 7-day click
For scaling, they run 1-day click
Audiences
Just go broad. Plain and simple.
Only set your age, gender, and location.
Exclusions? Only customers.
Scaling things up
How to know when something's ready for scale?
2 things they look for:
Let me explain the second one...
After the testing period is over, they propose scaling the daily budget of the testing ad set by 19% every couple of days if things look good.
If things hold, then it's ready for scale.
If things break, scale down and see if things level out.
My takeaways
The first thing I can say is...WOW.
It's not a coincidence they're doing so well.
They have a detailed plan for every aspect of their ad account.
That being said, there are a few things I wanted to highlight:
I hope you learned as much as I did. If you want to read the full article, subscribe to the Chew On This newsletter and read it here .
How Authentically American Became the Brand of Choice for Fortune 500 Companies
Imagine starting a DTC brand and having Fortune 500 companies calling you to order your products ??
To be noticed by such companies is a privilege that many entrepreneurs aspire to.
And it's exactly what happened to Dean Wegner at Authentically American.
But that's not all...
What's great about this story, is that such achievement was possible because of one specific thing.
And it's not what you're probably thinking.
Dean is the founder of Authentically American, and he will walk you through his journey from serving in the army to becoming a successful entrepreneur.
In this episode of?The DTC Insider ?podcast, we discussed:
?? Army Experience and Entrepreneurship
?? Challenges of Launching a Brand from Scratch
?? The Power of Story
?? B2C Business and Customer Relations
?? Working with Fortune 500 Companies
?? The WOW Product Experience
?? Embracing Innovation
?? Making the Most of National TV Features
?? Leading with Purpose & Values
?? Tune in to our latest episode: https://thedtcinsider.com/