Mamaroneck Cinemas: Old is New Again!!!
Been shut for over eight years, this cinema has returned to cater to its locals with a unique cinemagoing experience. While retaining most of its 1920's structural and architectural originality, the theatre has been equipped with modern technology to provide an experience that is modern yet wholesome and ambient.
Formerly known as the Playhouse Theatre, the property was operated by Playhouse Operating Co. since its opening in December 1925. The construction boosted a vaudeville house and most of its originality is still intact with the auditorium walls, lobby and fa?ade. The theatre was split into four screens by United Artists in 1980, with two balconies placed downstairs and upstairs respectively. The building also featured 12 dressing rooms and a stage, that has been left intact by the current promoters.
Clearview Cinemas briefly bought out the theatre, but with its acquisition by Bow-Tie Cinemas, the property was closed in 2014. The new Mamaroneck Cinemas is part of a family of independently run theatres that include Cobble Hill Cinemas, Kew Gardens Cinemas and Williamsburg Cinemas in the city of New York. Owned and operated by the Elgart family, this cinema is managed by Harvey Elgart and his sons Noah and Andrew Elgart. The family has been in the movie theatre business for over forty years. With its new restorations and refurbishments, the theatre has eight auditoriums each of which feature luxury reclining loungers, state-of-the-art laser projection and Dolby Digital 7.1 sound. The pièce de resistance, the Dolby Atmos Auditorium is the core of the building and the largest one too. Formerly used for live performances, it features Christie's 4K laser projection and Dolby Atmos sound for 360 degrees of total immersive sound. The servers at Mamaroneck are equipped with GDC products.
The Elgart family renovated the building not only for maximum climate efficiency and waterproofing, but exposed all the original bones of the structure and left it entirely exposed for an industrial look. The original steel beams and the underside of the original auditorium platforms are exposed in common walkways and bathrooms. The family has retained the 1925 original staircase with brass railings and the original clay block ceilings in the lobby and while merely painted the ceiling black.
领英推荐
The architectural firm that conceptualised and designed Mamaroneck is Philadelphia based JKR architects. The asbestos fire curtain from the theatrical days was removed from the original stage, but the steel tracks over 60 feet high were left exposed for aesthetic purposes. The backstage area, original wood stage and orchestra pit was never functional, hence, the promoters at Mamaroneck built an interior structure to capture this space for two additional auditoriums that haven't seen life since vaudeville. The biggest challenge was to open the cinema theatre during Covid. The outbreak in Westchester stalled the construction for over a year. This left the promoters with a vacant building to keep intact with demolition nearly completed in the interior. The stalling delayed the opening and halted the construction of two extended auditoriums added above the lobby entrance.
For the concession stand, Mamaroneck has been equipped with state-of-the-art equipment and the original grates used as a decorative feature from the original columns have been incorporated. Staying close to its old-school appeal, Mamaroneck has not incorporated a dine-in feature, instead, it continues to sell the traditional movie snacks, namely popcorn, soda, candy, hot dogs, nachos, ice cream and sweet corn for a twist.
"Theatres in this area have mainly gone out of business except for a few multiplexes that were built in the 90's. We are bringing back main street moviegoing for the town of Mamaroneck and surrounding towns nearby. The people coming to the theatre since we opened are just in awe and appreciation of bringing back memories of this location that they grew up in."
-Harvey Elgart, Proprietor and Owner, Mamaroneck Cinemas